Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK flag DE+AT flag
Change language:
 

x264 benchmark compilation & installation for FreeBSD 9.x

FreeBSD logo

System prerequisites

To be able to compile the x264 benchmark on FreeBSD 9.x a set of basic software needs to be present on the system. To install the required packages we will be using the BSD package manager. Please install the following packages as root as shown below:


Now to the interesting part:

The benchmarking software itself

To be able to use x264, we need the decoder filters from libavcodec (in short libav) and of course the x264 encoder itself, which will be linked against libav during the course of configuration and compilation. Additionally, we need the benchmark input video, download mirrors for that are available at the bottom of the x264 [benchmark results list]. If you like, you may also use ffmpeg/ffms as a replacement for libav.

For simplicities sake, we shall assume, that the files are now placed in /usr/home/user/x264src/. So on the terminal we switch to that directory and start with libav. Please unpack the archive like tar -xzvf <filename.tgz>, after which you will see a new libav subfolder. Change to that new folder, so that you can begin to set the necessary environment variables, for which we shall take the bash shell as a given:

The shell in which you have set those environment variables should stay open from now on. If you do close it accidentally or on purpose, you will need to re-set those variables in a newly opened shell. After that we can continue with modifying the libav configuration script. So we shall open the file configure that you can find in the folder libav has been extracted to with a text editor like nano. The following parts require modification:

cc_default="gcc"
host_cc_default="gcc"

Modify those two lines like this:

cc_default="gcc49"
host_cc_default="gcc49"

Additionally to that all calls of sed are to be replaced with gsed and all calls of awk need to be similarily replaced with gawk! After that we can launch the configuration script:

The bzlib and zlib libraries are switched off here as linking x264 against a libav enabled in such a way will not work on FreeBSD 9.x. Those libraries are used for MKV (Matroska container) header compression, which we can just safely forget about. Now we may compile and install:

With that done, we have installed libav and can carry on with x264.

First, let's unpack x264, again in folder /usr/home/user/x264src like: tar -xjvf <x264 archive> and change to the newly created x264 subfolder right afterwards.

Now we need to apply a small trick for x264 which will affect the configure and version.sh scripts. The two have a shebang line pointing at the bash shell, which sits in a different path on FreeBSD though. A simple solution is to just set a system-wide link to the bash, so we don't have to modify the scripts.

Additionally to that we need to modify the configure script to tell it to use the new GCC 4.9 compiler, just like we did for libav before. Search and replace:

CC="${CC-$[cross_prefix}gcc}"

Change that line to::

CC="gcc49"

Additionally to that we need to replace all calls of sed with gsed and all calls of awk with gawk, just like for libav, but in all the following scripts: version.sh, config.guess, config.sub, configure!

After that we can configure the source tree and compile as well as install the whole thing:

Now x264 is installed and ready for operation, which may be verified by running x264 --version. If that works and if the binary shows as being linked against libswscale and libavformat, then everything should be in perfect order. Now please download the benchmark script:

Copy the file launchbenchmark.sh into a subfolder dedicated to the benchmark, if you do not have one yet, just create it: mkdir -p /usr/home/user/x264benchmark. Also, you should put the input video elephantsdream_source.264 into that folder.

Now you're ready for launch. Just enter the following command while sitting in the folder /usr/home/user/x264benchmark, having verified that the benchmark script is executable (chmod +x ./launchbenchmark.sh):

That might look like the following screenshot (click for enlargement), the result can be read from the terminal window after completion, just pay attention to the "real" value after it's done:

FreeBSD screenshot
(Wallpaper is © 2002 by Billy Nolen)

Depending on the machine this may take hours, in extreme cases even days, weeks or months. If you have any further questions about building the x264 benchmark on PC-BSD, please do not hesitate to ask in the [corresponding forum thread]. The forum may be german, but if you ask in english, you should still get a response.

[Back to the x264 benchmark results list]

[Comment on this guide]

Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK Flagge DE+AT Flagge
Sprache wechseln:
 

x264 Benchmark Kompilier- & Installationsanleitung für FreeBSD 9.x

FreeBSD Logo

Systemvoraussetzungen

Um den x264 Benchmark auf FreeBSD 9.x übersetzen und installieren zu können, muß zuerst einmal eine gewisse Basissoftware vorhanden sein. Um selbige zu installieren, werden wir uns des BSD Package Managers bedienen. Folgende Pakete sollten wie gezeigt als root installiert werden:


Nun geht es ans Eingemachte:

Die Benchmark-Software selbst

Um x264 benutzen zu können, brauchen wir die Decodingfilter von libavcodec (kurz libav) und den x264 Encoder selbst, der im Verlauf der Installation gegen libav linked wird. Weiters natürlich das Benchmarkvideo, das als Input verwendet wird, Downloadmirror zum Download des letzteren sind am Ende der [Benchmarkergebnisliste] verfügbar. Als Ersatz für libav kann man auch ffmpeg/ffms verwenden, wenn man dies möchte.

Der Einfachheit halber nehmen wir hier an, daß die Dateien nun in /usr/home/user/x264src/ liegen. Auf der Konsole wechseln wir also in dieses Verzeichnis, und beginnen mit libav. Entpackt wird das Archiv mit tar -xzvf <filename.tgz>, wonach es einen libav Ordner gibt. In diesen Ordner wechsle man nun, und beginne zuerst mit dem Setzen benötigter Umgebungsvariablen, wir werden hierzu die Bash Shell voraussetzen:

Die Shell in der die Umgebungsvariablen gesetzt sind, sollte man nicht mehr schließen, ansonsten muß man sie in einer neu geöffneten Konsole auch neu setzen! Nun können wir mit der Modifikation des libav Konfigurationsskripts fortfahren. Wir öffnen also mit einem Texteditor wie nano die Datei configure, die im Verzeichnis, in das libav entpackt wurde liegt. Folgende Teile sind zu suchen und zu modifizieren:

cc_default="gcc"
host_cc_default="gcc"

Wir modifizieren diese Zeile wie folgt:

cc_default="gcc49"
host_cc_default="gcc49"

Zusätzlich dazu sind alle Aufrufe von sed durch gsed und alle Aufrufe von awk durch gawk zu ersetzen! Danach kann das Skript ausgeführt werden:

Die bzlib und zlib Libraries werden hier deaktiviert, weil das Linken von x264 gegen selbige nicht sauber auf FreeBSD 9.x funktioniert. Diese Libraries werden lediglich für MKV (Matroska-Container) Kopfdatenkompression benötigt, was wir uns allerdings sparen können. Nun kann das eigentliche Kompilieren und Installieren folgen:

Damit ist libav erfolgreich gebaut und wir fahren mit x264 selbst fort.

Zuerst entpacken wir wieder im Verzeichnis /usr/home/user/x264src den x264 Quellcode ca. wie folgt: tar -xjvf <x264 Archivdatei> und wechseln dann in das neu erzeugte x264 Unterverzeichnis.

Für x264 selbst ist wieder ein Trick anzuwenden, der das Skript configure und das Skript version.sh betrifft, die hier eine Shebang Zeile eingetragen haben, die auf die Bash Shell verweist, die sich aber auf FreeBSD in einem anderen Pfad befindet. Die einfachste Lösung ist es hier, einfach einen Link für die Bash zu erzeugen, damit die Shell von allen beteiligten Skripten gefunden wird:

Nun muß das configure Skript noch weiter abgeändert werden, und zwar müssen wir auch hier noch die Verwendung des neuen GCC 4.9 Compilers vorschreiben, wie schon bei libav. Es ist also zu suchen und zu ersetzen:

CC="${CC-$[cross_prefix}gcc}"

Wir modifizieren diese Zeile wie folgt:

CC="gcc49"

Obendrein müssen wir auch hier wie bei libav auch schon noch alle Aufrufe von sed durch gsed und alle Aufrufe von awk durch gawk ersetzen, und zwar in allen folgenden Dateien: version.sh, config.guess, config.sub, configure!

Danach konfigurieren wir den Quellcodebaum und bauen und installieren das ganze auch gleich:

Damit ist auch x264 installiert und betriebsbereit! Die Funktion der Software läßt sich einfach über x264 --version prüfen. Funktioniert das, und zeigt das Binary an, daß es gegen libswscale und libavformat linked ist, dann hat alles sauber funktioniert. Nun kann man folgendes Benchmarkscript herunterladen:

Diese Datei launchbenchmark.sh kopieren wir nun in einen für den Benchmark gedachten Unterordner, den wir ggf. anlegen: mkdir -p /usr/home/user/x264benchmark. In diesem Ordner sollte auch das Inputvideo elephantsdream_source.264 landen.

Nun kann man den Benchmark im Prinzip ausführen, hierzu gebe man einfach folgendes ein, während man im Ordner /home/user/x264benchmark sitzt und nachdem man geprüft hat, daß das Script auch ausführbar ist (chmod +x ./launchbenchmark.sh):

Das könnte dann zum Beispiel so aussehen (Klicken, um zu vergrößern), das Ergebnis ist danach einfach von der Konsole abzulesen, interessant ist der Wert nach der Zeile "Real", sobald der Test durchgelaufen ist:

FreeBSD Screenshot
(Wallpaper ist © 2002 by Billy Nolen)

Je nach Maschine kann das jetzt durchwegs mehrere Stunden, in extremen Fällen auch Tage, Wochen oder Monate dauern. Bei Problemen mit dieser Anleitung oder weiteren Fragen zum x264 Benchmark auf NetBSD/BSD bitte einfach im [entsprechenden Forumsthread] nachfragen.

[Zurück zur x264 Benchmark Ergebnisliste]

[Anleitung kommentieren]