Voodooalert+x264 logo
US+UK flag DE+AT flag
Switch language:
 

x264 benchmark installation guide for FreeDOS 1.1

FreeDOS logo

System prerequisites

This guide may be applicable to other DOS systems. The procedure has only been tested on FreeDOS 1.1 exclusively however, the functionality on other systems can not be guaranteed.

To run the x264 benchmark successfully on FreeDOS, several requirements must be met.

1.) The XMS memory manager

The first one is the memory manager. FreeDOS 1.1 ships with three different memory managers:

Neither JEMMEX nor EMM386 can provide a stable basis for x264 with their XMS memory management. When using either of them, x264 will crash with a failing memory allocation when calling the malloc() function, just as if there wasn't enough RAM. This also happens if there is actually enough RAM with 1GB or more. Only XMGR is capable of ensuring a stable operation of x264. So you need to boot FreeDOS using the XMGR memory manager. You can select it in the boot menu.

2.) Fixing the incompatibility between XMGR, UIDE and LFNs

x264 requires LFNs (long file names) to operate in the 2-pass mode the benchmark is running in. With DOSLFN FreeDOS is offering a corresponding API, that can be used by x264 when compiled with DJGPP. On top of that, DOSLFN is already loaded by FreeDOS by default. Unfortunately this will lead to a massive data integrity problem when mixing XMGR, LFNs and the IDE buffer driver UIDE.SYS, which is also being loaded by default. When using them together, writing to files with long names will cause the FAT file system to corrupt and will keep the benchmark from working properly. To counter this undesired behavior, we will deactivate UIDE.SYS in the system file AUTOEXEC.BAT, e.g. with the DOS text editor: EDIT.COM C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT.

You'll need to locate the following or a very similar line:

Simply prepending it with REM will comment the line out, deactivating it:
Save the file after applying the modification and reboot the machine.

3.) Additional software and its problems

The benchmark also needs the tool RUNTIME.COM by Tim Hall, which is currently maintained by by Eric Auer ([link]), which will be used for time measurements. You don't need to download this separately, as it's already included in the benchmark tools further down.

RUNTIME.COM has it's fair share of bugs though, one being particularly nasty: When measuring the runtime of a program, the time counter will reset to 0 every 24 hours! Since DOS can only handle one logical processor and x264 cannot use SSE units due to compiler issues under DOS, runtimes of more than 24 hours are encountered quite easily.

You'll absolutely need to pay close attention and write down the exact day and time when the benchmark was started. Say you start it on Tuesday at 01:00pm, and it crosses the finishing line on Thursday at 02:30pm with a result of 01:30:00.00, it's pretty clear that one hour and thirty minutes can't be right. So you'll need to manually add the missing days! In our case, 24 hours have passed from Tuesday, 01:00pm to Wednesday, 01:00pm, and once more from Wednesday, 01:00pm to Thursday, 01:00pm. The rest of the time that we can read from the result were the 01:30 hours from Thursday, 01:00pm to 02:30pm. So the final runtime for this example is 49:30:00.00.

This bug seems to be intentional though, as the source code shows:
runtime.asm (lines 66:73):
cmp dx,24 jb oktime ; more than ca 24 hours: implausible, wrap? neg ax neg dx cmp dx,24 jb oktime xor ax,ax ; if still not okay, show 00:00.00 xor dx,dx

And that's not all, there is another small issue. Since DOS ticks happen exactly 18.206481934 times a second, the smallest measurable time span is exactly 54.925493219ms long. As a result, purposeful time measurements on DOS kernels are limited to centisecond precision instead of the usual millisecond precision. In addition to that, RUNTIME.COM simply assumes a round 18.2 ticks per second (54.945054945ms), which creates an error margin of −0.019561726ms per tick. If you sum that up to an hour of runtime, the errors would accumulate to −1.282140759661 full seconds. Summed up to a full day, that means −30.771378231864 seconds, or roughly half a minute. While the error seems negligible in comparison to the runtime - likely smaller than any regular error of measurement - you'd need to correct the error manually after the result presents itself in case you wish to be as exact as possible.

The reason for the inaccuracy can once more be found in the source code:
runtime.asm (line 84):
mov cx,182 ; 18.2 ticks per second...

The benchmark software itself

Besides what we've seen now, x264 has another problem with one of DOS' limitations, and that's the maximum command length of the DOS command line interpreter: 125 characters. The two commands the x264 benchmark consists of exceed that easily however. Due to that we'll use a trick and feed the parameters to x264 from files, without stumbling over COMMAND.COM in the process.

x264 itself is available as a [DOS build compiled with DJGPP], ported by RayeR. This build supports only a single thread just like DOS itself does, so only a single logical processor can be used. Also, we'll need to forget about assembly optimizations making use of instruction set extensions like SSE/SSE2/SSE4.1/SSE4a and so on, as the compiler messes up during the build, creating an alignment problem that will keep the code from running. Here are the download links:

It is recommended to place all files of the benchmark in a separate folder. For simplicitys sake we shall assume the folder C:\X264B\. Before you can start, you will need to rename the file elephantsdream_source.h264 to PHANT.264. The file needs to be called that exactly, or the benchmark will not work. Unpack the benchmark tools into the same folder. To make this easy, you might wish to use another operating system for downloading and preparing everything, like maybe some Linux that can boot from CD, e.g. Knoppix.

Now you can run the benchmark if all files are ready in that folder by running the following commands:

C:
cd \X264B\
BENCH.BAT

After completion, the result cannot be obtained from RESULTS.txt as usual, but has to be read from the terminal directly. The time value will be printed as the last line of the output after everything is completed. You may also wish to look a few lines higher to verify that the benchmark has truly computed all frames. To make the result valid, it has to be 15691 frames. So there needs to be a line reading something like: encoded 15691 frames, x.xx fps, xxxxx.xx kb/s! When running, the test could look like this:

FreeDOS Screenshot

Depending on the machine this may take days, weeks or even months. If you have problems with this guide or if there are any additional questions about the x264 benchmark on FreeDOS, please refer to the [according forum thread] and ask there. The forum is german, but if you ask in english, you should still receive a reply.

[Back to the x264 benchmark results list]

[Comment on this guide]

Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK Flagge DE+AT Flagge
Sprache wechseln:
 

x264 Benchmark Installationsanleitung für FreeDOS 1.1

FreeDOS Logo

Systemvoraussetzungen

Die Inhalte dieser Anleitung sind möglicherweise auch auf andere DOS Systeme anwendbar. Getestet wurde das Verfahren jedoch ausschließlich auf FreeDOS 1.1, die Funktion auf anderen Systemen kann nicht garantiert werden.

Um den x264 Benchmark auf FreeDOS erfolgreich laufen lassen zu können, müssen mehrere Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein.

1.) Der XMS Speichermanager

Die erste stellt der verwendete Speichermanager dar. FreeDOS 1.1 wird mit drei Speichermanagern ausgeliefert:

Sowohl JEMMEX wie auch EMM386 bieten x264 mit ihrer XMS Speicherverwaltung keinen guten Nährboden. Bei Einsatz eines dieser beiden Speichermanager wird x264 abstürzen, weil die Speicherallokierung beim Aufruf der malloc() Funktion fehlschlägt, so als ob nicht genügend RAM verfügbar wäre. Das geschieht auch dann, wenn mit 1GB oder mehr genügend Speicher zur Verfügung steht. Nur XMGR ist in der Lage, den stabilen Betrieb von x264 sicherzustellen. FreeDOS 1.1 ist also mit XMGR als Speichermanager zu starten, welchen man im Bootmenü auswählen kann.

2.) Beseitigung der Inkompatibilität zwischen XMGR, UIDE und LFNs

x264 benötigt zudem im vom Benchmark genutzten 2-Pass Modus lange Dateinamen, auch bekannt als LFNs (Long File Names). Prinzipiell bietet FreeDOS hier mit DOSLFN bereits eine entsprechende Schnittstelle an, die ein per DJGPP gebautes x264 nutzen kann und die standardmäßig geladen wird. Leider gibt es ein massives Datenintegritätsproblem, sofern XMGR, LFNs und der standardgemäß geladene UIDE.SYS Puffertreiber zusammenkommen. Dabei kommt es zu Schäden am FAT Dateisystem, und der Benchmark kann nicht sauber arbeiten. Um diesem Fehlverhalten entgegenzuwirken, deaktivieren wir UIDE.SYS in der Startdatei C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT, z.B. mit dem DOS Texteditor: EDIT.COM C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT.

Die folgende oder ähnliche Zeile wäre zu finden:

Ein einfaches Voranstellen von REM kommentiert diese Zeile aus:
Danach wären die Datei zu speichern und der Rechner neu zu starten.

3.) Benötigte Zusatzsoftware und deren Probleme

Der Betrieb des Benchmarks erfordert noch das Tool RUNTIME.COM von Tim Hall unter Maintenance von Eric Auer ([Link]), welches zur Zeitmessung erforderlich ist. Das Tool muß nicht extra heruntergeladen werden, da es in den Benchmarktools weiter unten integriert ist.

RUNTIME.COM weiß allerdings mit einem hinterhältigen Bug aufzuwarten: Mißt das Tool die Laufzeit eines Programms, so setzt sich die gemessene Zeit alle 24 Stunden auf 0 zurück! Da DOS nur einen logischen Prozessorkern unterstüzt, und x264 der Einsatz von SSE Einheiten aufgrund von Compilerproblemen unter DOS nicht möglich ist, kann es sehr schnell zu Laufzeiten über 24 Stunden kommen.

Es ist also unbedingt darauf zu achten, die exakte Startzeit zu notieren, im Speziellen den Starttag. Startet man den Test also z.B. am Dienstag um 13:00, und schließt er am Donnerstag um 14:30 mit einem Resultat von 01:30:00.00 ab, so kann die Laufzeit natürlich niemals nur eine Stunde und dreißig Minuten betragen haben. Die fehlenden Tage sind also zu addieren! In unserem Fall sind 24 Stunden von Dienstag 13:00 bis Mittwoch 13:00 vergangen, dann nochmals 24 Stunden von Mittwoch 13:00 bis Donnerstag 13:00, und dann noch 01:30 Stunden Restzeit am Donnerstag von 13:00 bis 14:30. Die finale Laufzeit beträgt für dieses Beispiel also 49:30:00.00.

Dieses Fehlverhalten scheint vom Entwickler beabsichtig zu sein, wie der Quellcode veranschaulicht:
runtime.asm (Zeilen 66:73):
cmp dx,24 jb oktime ; more than ca 24 hours: implausible, wrap? neg ax neg dx cmp dx,24 jb oktime xor ax,ax ; if still not okay, show 00:00.00 xor dx,dx

Obendrein gibt es noch einen Fehler: Da DOS Ticks nur exakt 18.206481934 Mal pro Sekunde passieren, beträgt die kleinste meßbare Zeiteinheit exakt 54.925493219ms. Das resultiert darin, daß sinnvolle Zeitmessungen mit einem DOS Kernel nur in Zentisekundengenauigkeit, nicht aber in der sonst üblichen Millisekundengenauigkeit möglich sind. Zusätzlich dazu nimmt RUNTIME.COM einfach runde 18.2 Ticks pro Sekunde an (54.945054945ms), womit sich für jeden Tick ein Meßfehler von −0.019561726ms ergibt. Hochgerechnet auf eine volle Stunde wären dies dann −1.282140759661 volle Sekunden, in einem Tag bereits −30.771378231864 Sekunden, also in etwa eine halbe Minute. Prozentuell ist dieser Anteil vernachlässigbar, da er wohl kleiner als diverse Meßungenauigkeiten sein dürfte. Will man aber penibel vorgehen, wäre dieser Fehler rechnerisch aus dem erzielten Ergebnis herauszukorrigieren!

Die Ursache für die Ungenauigkeit läßt sich wieder dem Quellcode entnehmen:
runtime.asm (Zeile 84):
mov cx,182 ; 18.2 ticks per second...

Die Benchmarksoftware selbst

x264 hat neben den bereits gezeigten Problemen mit einer weiteren Limitierung zu kämpfen, und zwar der maximalen Länge von Befehlen unter DOS Kommandozeileninterpretern: 125 Zeichen. Die beiden Befehle aus denen der x264 Benchmark besteht überschreiten dies aber in jedem Fall deutlich. Aus diesem Grund bedienen wir uns einen Tricks, mit dessen Hilfe die Parameter der Befehle aus einer Datei direkt an x264 übergeben werden, ohne dabei über COMMAND.COM zu stolpern.

x264 selbst liegt für DOS in einem mit [DJGPP kompilierten Build] von RayeR vor, den wir für den Benchmark heranziehen. Dieser Build unterstützt wie auch DOS selbst nur Single Thread Betrieb, es kann also nur ein logischer Prozessor genutzt werden. Außerdem müssen wir auf Assembleroptimierungen für Befehlssatzerweiterungen wie SSE/SSE2/SSE4.1/SSE4a und dergleichen verzichten, da ein vom Compiler generiertes Alignmentproblem die Ausführung derartigen Codes verhindert. Die Downloads &fuuml;r den Benchmark:

Es empfiehlt sich, alle Daten des Benchmarks in einen separaten Ordner zu platzieren. Wir nehmen der Einfachheit den Ordner C:\X264B\ an. Bevor man beginnen kann, wäre das Benchmarkvideo elephantsdream_source.h264 dann noch auf PHANT.264 umzubenennen. Die Datei muß genau so heißen, damit der Test funktionieren kann. Die Benchmarktools sind im selben Ordner wie das Benchmarkvideo zu entpacken. Um diese Prozesse zu vereinfachen, kann es empfehlenswert sein, die Dateien in einem anderen Betriebssystem herunterzuladen und aufzubereiten, wie z.B. in einem von CD bootfähigen Linux, wie etwa Knoppix.

Danach kann man den Benchmark ausführen, wenn man alles in den oben genannten Ordner platziert hat, indem man folgende Kommandos ausführt:

C:
cd \X264B\
BENCH.BAT

Nach Ablauf des Tests ist das Ergebnis nicht wie sonst gewohnt aus der Datei RESULTS.txt zu holen, sondern direkt von der Konsole abzulesen. Der Zeitwert wird als letzte Ausgabezeile nach Abschluß des Benchmarks ausgegeben. Zusätzlich kann man auch noch ein paar Zeilen weiter oben prüfen, wieviele Frames tatsächlich kodiert worden sind. Damit ein gültiges Resultat angenommen werden kann, müssen hier exakt 15691 Frames ausgewiesen sein, es muß also eine Zeile wie encoded 15691 frames, x.xx fps, xxxxx.xx kb/s zu sehen sein!

Im Betrieb würde der laufende Test das dann zum Beispiel so aussehen:

FreeDOS Screenshot

Je nach Maschine kann das jetzt durchwegs mehrere Tage, Wochen oder Monate dauern. Bei Problemen mit dieser Anleitung oder weiteren Fragen zum x264 Benchmark auf FreeDOS bitte einfach im [entsprechenden Forumsthread] nachfragen.

[Zurück zur x264 Benchmark Ergebnisliste]

[Anleitung kommentieren]