Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK Flagge DE+AT Flagge
Change language:
 

x264 benchmark compilation & installation guide for Linux

Linux Logo

System prerequisites

To be able to compile and install the x264 benchmark on Linux, a set of basic software needs to be present on the system. That includes:


Typically those tools are included with or can be installed from your Linux distributions software repository, like with yum install gcc on RedHat derivatives or aptitude install build-essential on Debian Linux. Where you don't have a yasm assembler, you may usually easily compile it from source code, ./configure && make && make install is usually sufficient, as long as the GCC build toolchain is already present.

If you don't have any access to those tools, maybe because you're on an embedded system, you could try your luck with an ELDK (Embedded Linux Development Kit), which is available for some ARM, PowerPC and MIPS microarchitectures:

To use an ELDK on an embedded system, you'll need a bit more than just the ELDK itself, but that shall be discussed further down. For now, we'll deal with a regular Linux installation.

The benchmarking software itself

To be able to use x264, we'll need the decoding filters of libavcodec (in short libav) and the x264 encoder itself, which is being linked against libav during compilation. Additionally, the benchmarks input video will also be required, download mirrors for that are linked at the bottom of the [benchmarks results list]. As a replacement for libav you may also use ffmpeg/ffms, if preferred for any reason.

For simplicities sake, we'll assume that you have the files in /home/user/x264src/. Additionally we'll assume that you have a rather modern system available and with yasm installed. On the shell, we'll navigate to said folder and start with libav. The archive at hand is easily unpacked with tar -xzvf <filename.tgz>, after which you'll see a libav folder. Go to that folder, and run the following commands as root (If you do not want to run compilers and linkers as root, you can do the last step only as root). The --prefix option is optional here. Should you be running a non-LSB/POSIX-compliant system (rare!), you might need to specify a different path here like / or maybe /usr:

Now libav is installed. We can now continue to build and link x264 itself. Please unpack the x264 source code by running tar -xjvf last_x264.tar.bz2 and then go to the newly created x264 folder. Similar to before. Should you be running a non-LSB/POSIX-compliant system (rare!), you might need to specify a different path here, like / or /usr. If you really need to do that, you'd also need to edit the config.mak after running configure, changing the directive LDFLAGSCLI = -L. to something like LDFLAGSCLI = -L. -L/lib or LDFLAGSCLI = -L. -L/usr/lib or something similar right at the end of the file:

Now you can verify the functionality by running x264 --version. If that works, and the binary shows that it's been linked against libswscale and libavformat, then everything went smoothly. If you indeed have a system where no assembler code paths exist for, e.g. a DEC Alpha or a very old Intel x86 like a Pentium MMX, you may need to specify --disable-asm as an option for both configure scripts. Installing yasm is entirely unnecessary in such a case. Now you can download the benchmarking script launchbenchmark.sh here:

Now copy that file launchbenchmark.sh to a new subfolder, which will be used for the benchmark itself. If necessary, create it: mkdir -p /home/user/x264benchmark and chmod +x the script. Also put the input video file elephantsdream_source.264 in there.
Now the benchmark can be run, just enter the following line while sitting in the folder /home/user/x264benchmark:

When running, it may look somewhat like this:

Linux Screenshot

After completion, just read the "Real" value from the terminal.

Depending on the machine this may take hours, in extreme cases days or even weeks or months. If you're doing this remotely via SSH or something similar, you may want to think about using a screen session, that can be safely pushed to the background, so you don't have to keep an open interactive login shell all the time. Before using screen, please read the documentation first: man screen.

Embedded systems & ELDK

If you - like mentioned previously - had to use an ELDK, you should be able to handle chroot jails to use it properly. Not all machines are fit for an ELDK, some need to be cracked first (routers, NAS boxes), others just don't have enough storage for it, but in some cases, an ELDK can help to equip a compiler- and package manager-less system with the proper toolchains.

To use chroot properly, just extract the chosen ELDK on the target system, we'll assume the target folder /eldk here. After that you need to prepare a few more things, before you may use the ELDK in a proper way. The /dev and /proc subsystems need to be set up, like shown below:

After that, you can enter your chroot jail by running chroot /eldk as root. Somewhere within that /eldk folder you should also have your libav and x264 source code. For some embedded systems this alone won't be enough though. Some have no swap space configured, which can break the benchmark if there is too little memory available. So you might need to set up a swap file, like shown below, where we start to do that outside of the chroot jail, and then switch to the inside to complete the operation. In this example we will create a 1GB swap file:

When your embedded system is all prepared, you may want to compile and install the yasm assembler within the chroot jail (if necessary, e.g. if you have an ARM CPU with NEON), and after that just compile and run libav+x264 as shown previously.

[Back to the x264 benchmark results list]

[Comment on this guide]

Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK Flagge DE+AT Flagge
Sprache wechseln:
 

x264 Benchmark Kompilier- & Installationsanleitung für Linux

Linux Logo

Systemvoraussetzungen

Um den x264 Benchmark auf Linux übersetzen und installieren zu können, muß zuerst einmal eine gewisse Basissoftware vorhanden sein. Dazu gehören hauptsächlich:


Üblicherweise sind diese Tools im Rahmen der vorliegenden Linux Distribution zu beziehen, auf RedHat Derivaten etwa mit Hilfe von yum install gcc, auf Debian Linux etwa mit aptitude install build-essential. Wo der yasm Compiler nicht vorliegt, läßt sich selbiger in der Regel auch leicht von Quellcode übersetzen, ein ./configure && make && make install genügt in der Regel, solange die GCC Build Toolchain vorhanden ist.

Hat man diese Tools nicht zur Verfügung, eventuell, weil man ein Embedded System vorliegen hat, so kann man sein Glück noch mit einer ELDK (Embedded Linux Development Kit) versuchen, welches für einige ARM, PowerPC und MIPS Architekturen zur Verfügung steht:

Um eine ELDK auf einem Embedded System zu verwenden, braucht es noch einiges extra, doch das soll erst weiter unten beschrieben werden. Zuerst wenden wir uns dem regulären Linux System zu.

Die Benchmark-Software selbst

Um x264 benutzen zu können, brauchen wir die Decodingfilter von libavcodec (kurz libav) und den x264 Encoder selbst, der im Verlauf der Installation gegen libav linked wird. Weiters natürlich das Benchmarkvideo, das als Input verwendet wird, Downloadmirror zum Download des letzteren sind am Ende der [Benchmarkergebnisliste] verfügbar. Als Ersatz für libav kann man auch ffmpeg/ffms verwenden, wenn man dies möchte.

Der Einfachheit halber nehmen wir hier an, daß die Dateien nun in /home/user/x264src/ liegen. Weiters nehmen wir an, daß ein relativ modernes System mit yasm Assembler vorliegt. Auf der Konsole wechseln wir also in dieses Verzeichnis, und beginnen mit libav. Entpackt wird das Archiv mit tar -xzvf <filename.tgz>, wonach es einen libav Ordner gibt. In diesen Ordner wechsle man nun, und führe die folgenden Kommandos hintereinander als root aus (Wer Compiler und Linker nicht als root laufen lassen möchte, kann dies auch rein nur für den letzten Schritt tun). Die --prefix Option ist hierbei optional. Sollte ein nicht LSB/POSIX-kompatibles System vorliegen (selten!), so müßte hier ein anderer Pfad spezifiziert werden, z.B. / oder /usr:

Nun ist libav installiert, wir können also daran gehen, x264 selbst zu linken und zu bauen, man entpacke also den x264 Quellcode mit tar -xjvf last_x264.tar.bz2 und wechsle danach in das x264 Verzeichnis. Nun ähnliches wie auch zuvor. Die --prefix Option ist hierbei optional. Sollte ein nicht LSB/POSIX-kompatibles System vorliegen (selten!), so müßte hier ein anderer Pfad spezifiziert werden, z.B. / oder /usr. Ist diese Pfadänderung wirklich notwendig, so muß nach dem x264 configure Schritt auch noch die config.mak editiert werden, hier muß gegen Ende die Direktive LDFLAGSCLI = -L. um z.B. LDFLAGSCLI = -L. -L/lib oder LDFLAGSCLI = -L. -L/usr/lib o.ä. ergänzt werden:

Nun kann man die Funktion durch x264 --version prüfen. Funktioniert das, und zeigt das Binary an, daß es gegen libswscale und libavformat linked ist, dann hat alles sauber funktioniert. Sollte man in der Tat ein System besitzen, für welches noch keine Assemblercodepfade vorliegen, z.B. ein DEC Alpha oder ein sehr alter Intel x86 wie etwa ein Pentium MMX, dann müßte man noch die Option --disable-asm an beide configure Skripte übergeben. yasm braucht man in so einem Fall gar nicht zu installieren. Nun kann man folgendes Benchmarkscript herunterladen:

Diese Datei launchbenchmark.sh kopieren wir nun in einen für den Benchmark gedachten Unterordner, den wir ggf. anlegen: mkdir -p /home/user/x264benchmark. In diesem Ordner sollte auch das Inputvideo elephantsdream_source.264 landen.
Nun kann man den Benchmark im Prinzip ausführen, hierzu gebe man einfach folgendes ein, während man im Ordner /home/user/x264benchmark sitzt:

Im Betrieb kann das ganze z.B. so aussehen:

Linux Screenshot

Hiernach ist einfach der "Real" Wert aus dem Terminal abzulesen.

Je nach Maschine kann das jetzt durchwegs mehrere Stunden, in extremen Fällen auch Tage, Wochen oder Monate dauern. Wenn man dies remote per SSH o.ä. macht, sollte man eventuell eine screen Session andenken, die man auch schließen und im Hintergrund weiterlaufen lassen kann. So muß die interaktive Shell nicht zwingend offen bleiben. Bevor man screen verwendet - sofern man das möchte - sollte man sich noch die entsprechende Dokumentation mit man screen durchlesen.

Embedded Systems & ELDK

Hat man - wie oben kurz erwähnt eine ELDK verwenden müssen, so sollte man mit chroot Umgebungen umgehen können, um selbige sinnvoll einsetzen zu können. Nicht alle Maschinen eignen sich für eine ELDK, manche müssen erst hacked werden (Router, NAS), andere haben einfach nicht genug Storage, aber in manchen Fällen kann eine ELDK helfen, ein Compiler- und Packagemanager-loses System mit eben solchen Tools auszustatten.

Um chroot korrekt einzusetzen, genügt es normal, die ELDK am Zielsystem zu entpacken, wir nehmen hier den Ordner /eldk an. Danach müssen noch einige Dinge vorbereitet werden, bevor die ELDK sinnvoll verwendet werden kann. So müssen die /dev und /proc Subsysteme vorbereitet werden, in etwa so:

Danach könnte man normalerweise per chroot /eldk als root in den neuen Kontext wechseln (wo sich auch irgendwo in Unterordnern der Sourcecode für libav und x264 befinden sollte), doch oft genügt dies auf Embedded Systems nicht. Manche haben auch zuwenig RAM und sind dennoch swaplos, womit das Einrichten eines Swapfiles unabdingbar wird. Dies kann z.B. so gemacht werden, hier vorerst außerhalb vom chroot stehend, dann wechselnd und aktivierend, ein Swapfile von 1GB wird hier erzeugt:

Wenn man sein Embedded System soweit hat, kann man noch innerhalb des Systems yasm kompilieren und installieren (falls nötig, z.B. ARM NEON vorhanden), und danach wie oben beschrieben libav+x264 bauen und installieren, sowie ausführen.

[Zurück zur x264 Benchmark Ergebnisliste]

[Anleitung kommentieren]