Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK Flagge DE+AT Flagge
Change language:
 

x264 benchmark compilation & installation guide for MidnightBSD 0.4

MidnightBSD Logo

System prerequisites

To compile and install the x264 benchmark on MidnightBSD some basic dependencies need to be fulfilled first. To do that we will use the modified FreeBSD ports system which is called mports on MidnightBSD. By using mports we will be compiling all the necessary packages from source code as the superuser root:


After installation of those packages, you should change the login shell of your user as well as the root user to ensure that the rest of this guide will work for you properly:

After that all users including the superuser should log off and log back in so that the login shell change will take effect.

The benchmarking software itself

To be able to use x264, we need the decoder filters from libavcodec (in short libav) and of course the x264 encoder itself, which will be linked against libav during the course of configuration and compilation. Additionally, we need the benchmark input video, download mirrors for that are available at the bottom of the x264 [benchmark results list]. If you like, you may also use ffmpeg/ffms as a replacement for libav.

For simplicities sake, we shall assume, that the files are now placed in /home/user/x264src/. So on the terminal we switch to that directory and start with libav. Please unpack the archive like tar -xzvf , after which you will see a new libav subfolder. Change to that new folder, so that you can begin to do the necessary modifications and configurations:

Since MidnightBSD has departed quite a bit from its origins since its time as a FreeBSD 6 fork, and since it has also swallowed up some stuff from OpenBSD and NetBSD, the system has become somewhat unique. This is also reflected by the kernel/platform strings that do not show FreeBSD as it is done in PC-BSD, but rather its own identification string MidnightBSD all the way down to the kernel itself. Since the libav build system does not know about a BSD derivative called MidnightBSD, we will need to modify the build environment a bit to make it happen. First thing will be a modification of the configure script, which needs a small addendum, for which you can use your favorite text editor like vi or nano, which you can also get from the mports tree:

freebsd)
    ;;

Right after that, add the following part for proper MidnightBSD detection:

midnightbsd)
    ;;

Also, the system will fail to locate the Posix threading library which is required for multicore/-thread support. This deficiency is easily corrected by telling the system how to link against the proper Posix library. This can be done by setting a simple environment variable. After that step, we can continue to configure the source tree and compile & install libav as root right away. Please note that if you close the terminal after setting the environment variable, you will need to set it again in any newly opened terminal window:

Now libav is installed and we may continue with x264 itself.

First, let's unpack x264, again in folder /home/user/x264src like: tar -xjvf <x264 archive> and change to the newly created x264 subfolder right afterwards.

In x264' case three scripts will require editing, the configure script, then the larger config.guess and last but not least version.sh. We will start with the last one, as version.sh will only need editing of the first line - called the shebang line - so that the system can locate the bash shell with which the script has to be executed:

#!/bin/bash

Replace this first line with:

#!/usr/local/bin/bash

The same thing is also necessary in the configure script:

#!/bin/bash

Again, replace the first line with this:

#!/usr/local/bin/bash

Additionally to that, the configure script needs some small parts added to it, look for the following:

freebsd*)
    SYS="FREEBSD"
    LDFLAGS="$LDFLAGS -lm"
    ;;

Below that part, add this:

midnightbsd*)
    SYS="MIDNIGHTBSD"
    LDFLAGS="$LDFLAGS -lm -lpthread"
    ;;

Finally, let's take a look at config.guess, where we will need to adapt the operating system detection routines for MidnightBSD:

*:FreeBSD:*:*)
  UNAME_PROCESSOR=`/usr/bin/uname -p`
  case ${UNAME_PROCESSOR} in
    amd64)
        echo x86_64-unknown-freebsd`echo ${UNAME_RELEASE}|sed -e 's/[-(].*//'` ;;
    *)
        echo ${UNAME_PROCESSOR}-unknown-freebsd`echo ${UNAME_RELEASE}|sed -e 's/[-(].*//'` ;;
  esac
  exit ;;

Above that passage, please add the following:

*:MidnightBSD:*:*)
  UNAME_PROCESSOR=`/usr/bin/uname -p`
  case ${UNAME_PROCESSOR} in
    amd64)
        echo x86_64-unknown-midnightbsd`echo ${UNAME_RELEASE}|sed -e 's/[-(].*//'` ;;
    *)
        echo ${UNAME_PROCESSOR}-unknown-midnightbsd`echo ${UNAME_RELEASE}|sed -e 's/[-(].*//'` ;;
  esac
  exit ;;

When that's done, we need to extend some environment variables, because the x264 build system can otherwise not locate libav which is required for the benchmark to operate. After those variables have been (re)set, the configure script can be launched:

You may want to check whether the configure scripts output shows the line "lavf yes" after configuration. x264 will be able to link against libav only if this is the case. If it says "lavf no", you will need to analyze the output in the file config.log to determine what might have gone wrong. Now like on some other systems, the configure script will have created a faulty config.mak that we will need to fix before starting the actual compilation. Look for the following line:

LDFLAGSCLI = -L. -lavformat -lavcodec -lswscale -lavutil -lm -lz -lbz2 -lpthread -lswscale -lavutil

This line which you will find near the end of the config.mak should be replaced with the following string:

LDFLAGSCLI = -L. -L/usr/local/lib -lavformat -lavcodec -lswscale -lavutil -lm -lz -lbz2 -lpthread -lswscale -lavutil

Now we can do the actual compilation and installation:

Now x264 is also installed and ready for operation. The basic functionality of the software can be checked by running x264 --version. If that works, and the binary shows it's been linked against libswscale and libavformat, everything went smoothly. Now you can download the following benchmarking script:

This file launchbenchmark.sh needs to be copied into the subfolder dedicated to the benchmark, if it does not yet exist, please just created it: mkdir -p /home/user/x264benchmark. You should also put the input video elephantsdream_source.264 into that folder.

So now you can basically just launch the benchmark, so just enter the following line after ensuring that the script is executable (chmod +x ./launchbenchmark.sh) and while of course sitting in /home/user/x264benchmark:

That could look somewhat like this (click to enlarge). The result can be read from the terminal after the benchmark is done, the important value here is the one that will be shown besides the string "Real":

MidnightBSD Screenshot

Depending on the host machine that might take some hours, in extreme cases even days, weeks or months. If you have problems with this guide or if there are any additional questions about the x264 benchmark on NetBSD/BSD, please refer to the [according forum thread] and ask there. The forum is german, but if you ask in english, you will still get a reply, at least by me. :)

[Back to the x264 benchmark results list]

[Comment on this guide]

Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK Flagge DE+AT Flagge
Sprache wechseln:
 

x264 Benchmark Kompilier- & Installationsanleitung für MidnightBSD 0.4

MidnightBSD Logo

Systemvoraussetzungen

Um den x264 Benchmark auf MidnightBSD übersetzen und installieren zu können, muß zuerst einmal eine gewisse Basissoftware vorhanden sein. Um selbige zu installieren, werden wir uns des modifizierten FreeBSD Ports Systems bedienen, daß sich auf MidnightBSD nunmehr mports nennt. Im Zuge dessen werden die zu erfüllenden Abhängigkeiten durch Kompilieren des Quellcodes aller benötigten Pakete gelöst, hierzu muß man mit dem Superuser root arbeiten:


Nach der Installation sollte für eine einwandfreie Funktion der restlichen Anleitung die Login Shell des Benutzers und auch jene von root auf die Bash geändert werden. Das geschieht wie folgt:

Hiernach sollten sich der Benutzer sowie ggf. vorhandene eingeloggte Superuser aus dem System abmelden und neu einloggen, sodaß diese Änderung greift.

Die Benchmark-Software selbst

Um x264 benutzen zu können, brauchen wir die Decodingfilter von libavcodec (kurz libav) und den x264 Encoder selbst, der im Verlauf der Installation gegen libav linked wird. Weiters natürlich das Benchmarkvideo, das als Input verwendet wird, Downloadmirror zum Download des letzteren sind am Ende der [Benchmarkergebnisliste] verfügbar. Als Ersatz für libav kann man auch ffmpeg/ffms verwenden, wenn man dies möchte.

Der Einfachheit halber nehmen wir hier an, daß die Dateien nun in /home/user/x264src/ liegen. Auf der Konsole wechseln wir also in dieses Verzeichnis, und beginnen mit libav. Entpackt wird das Archiv mit tar -xzvf <filename.tgz>, wonach es einen libav Ordner gibt. In diesen Ordner wechsle man nun, und beginne mit den notwendigen Modifikationen und dem Ausführen der entsprechenden Scripts:

Da sich MidnightBSD nach dem Fork von FreeBSD 6 schon relativ weit von selbigem entfernt und auch Bestandteile von OpenBSD und NetBSD zusammengesammelt hat, ist das System schon als eigenständig anzusehen. Reflektiert wird dies auch durch die Strings mit denen der Systemkern bzw. die Plattform benannt ist. Anstatt eines FreeBSD-Strings wie bei PC-BSD zu finden heißt dieses Betriebssystem wirklich bis in den modifizierten Kern hinab MidnightBSD. Da das libav Buildsystem ein solches BSD Derivat aber nicht kennt, müssen wir uns selbst um die Anpassung der Buildumgebung kümmern. Zuerst ist das configure Skript zu editieren, und zwar wie folgt, zu suchen ist der hier grün markierte Text, der durch den roten zu ergänzen ist, dazu kann man einen beliebigen Texteditor wie vi oder nano heranziehen, der ebenfalls über mports zu beziehen ist:

freebsd)
    ;;

Hierunter fügen wir einen entsprechenden Eintrag für MidnightBSD hinzu:

midnightbsd)
    ;;

Nun ist es noch so, daß das System die Posix Threading Library nicht wird finden können, die für die Multicore/-thread Unterstützung benötigt wird. Dies ist einfach zu korrigieren, indem wir dem System erklären, wo die Threads zu finden sind, was durch das Setzen einer Umgebungsvariable geschieht (danach sollte man das Terminal nicht mehr schließen, ansonsten muß man die Variable neu setzen). Wenn das getan ist, kann der Quellcode auch gleich fertig konfiguriert, gebaut und als root installiert werden:

Damit ist libav installiert, und wir können mit x264 selbst fortfahren.

Zuerst entpacken wir - wieder im Verzeichnis /home/user/x264src den x264 Quellcode ca. wie folgt: tar -xjvf <x264 Archivdatei> und wechseln dann in das neu erzeugte x264 Unterverzeichnis.

Im Falle von x264 müssen gleich drei Skripte editiert werden, erneut das configure Skript selbst, das dicke config.guess und auch noch das Skript version.sh. Zuerst knöpfen wir uns letzteres vor, wo nur die erste Zeile - genannt Shebang - zu modifzieren ist, damit das System die bash Shell finden kann, mit der das Skript auszuführen ist:

#!/bin/bash

Diese erste Zeile ersetzen wir mit:

#!/usr/local/bin/bash

Selbiges ist auch noch im configure Skript vonnöten:

#!/bin/bash

Diese erste Zeile ersetzen wir auch hier wieder mit:

#!/usr/local/bin/bash

Hier brauchen wir aber zusätzlich dazu noch eine Ergänzung in folgender Passage:

freebsd*)
    SYS="FREEBSD"
    LDFLAGS="$LDFLAGS -lm"
    ;;

Unter diesem Teil fügen wir folgendes hinzu:

midnightbsd*)
    SYS="MIDNIGHTBSD"
    LDFLAGS="$LDFLAGS -lm -lpthread"
    ;;

Abschließend sehen wir uns config.guess an, wo wir wieder einen Teil für die korrekte Betriebssystemerkennung werden hinzufügen müssen:

*:FreeBSD:*:*)
  UNAME_PROCESSOR=`/usr/bin/uname -p`
  case ${UNAME_PROCESSOR} in
    amd64)
        echo x86_64-unknown-freebsd`echo ${UNAME_RELEASE}|sed -e 's/[-(].*//'` ;;
    *)
        echo ${UNAME_PROCESSOR}-unknown-freebsd`echo ${UNAME_RELEASE}|sed -e 's/[-(].*//'` ;;
  esac
  exit ;;

Über dieser Passage fügen wir folgende neue hinzu:

*:MidnightBSD:*:*)
  UNAME_PROCESSOR=`/usr/bin/uname -p`
  case ${UNAME_PROCESSOR} in
    amd64)
        echo x86_64-unknown-midnightbsd`echo ${UNAME_RELEASE}|sed -e 's/[-(].*//'` ;;
    *)
        echo ${UNAME_PROCESSOR}-unknown-midnightbsd`echo ${UNAME_RELEASE}|sed -e 's/[-(].*//'` ;;
  esac
  exit ;;

Ist auch das erledigt, sind noch die Umgebungsvariablen zu erweitern, da das Buildsystem ansonsten u.a. libav nicht wird finden können, was aber unerläßlich ist. Danach kann das configure Skript auch gleich direkt ausgeführt werden:

Gegebenenfalls sollte man nach dem Konfigurationsschritt noch prüfen, ob die Ausgabe des Skripts die Zeile "lavf yes" aufweist. Nur wenn dies der Fall ist, wird x264 korrekt gegen libav gelinked werden. Sollte dem nicht so sein, wäre das Fehlverhalten anhand der Ausgabe in config.log zu analysieren. Wie auf einigen anderen Betriebssystemen schreibt configure des weiteren auch hier eine nicht ganz perfekte config.mak, die wir jetzt noch editieren müssen, bevor wir mit dem Bau beginnen können:

LDFLAGSCLI = -L. -lavformat -lavcodec -lswscale -lavutil -lm -lz -lbz2 -lpthread -lswscale -lavutil

Diese relativ weit gegen Ende der config.mak befindliche Zeile ersetzen wir mit:

LDFLAGSCLI = -L. -L/usr/local/lib -lavformat -lavcodec -lswscale -lavutil -lm -lz -lbz2 -lpthread -lswscale -lavutil

Nun kann auch mit dem Kompilieren und Installieren fortgefahren werden:

Damit ist auch x264 installiert und betriebsbereit! Die Funktion der Software läßt sich einfach über x264 --version prüfen. Funktioniert das, und zeigt das Binary an, daß es gegen libswscale und libavformat linked ist, dann hat alles sauber funktioniert. Nun kann man folgendes Benchmarkscript herunterladen:

Diese Datei launchbenchmark.sh kopieren wir nun in einen für den Benchmark gedachten Unterordner, den wir ggf. anlegen: mkdir -p /home/user/x264benchmark. In diesem Ordner sollte auch das Inputvideo elephantsdream_source.264 landen.

Nun kann man den Benchmark im Prinzip ausführen, hierzu gebe man einfach folgendes ein, während man im Ordner /home/user/x264benchmark sitzt und nachdem man geprüft hat, daß das Script auch ausführbar ist (chmod +x ./launchbenchmark.sh):

Das könnte dann zum Beispiel so aussehen (Klicken, um zu vergrößern), das Ergebnis ist danach einfach von der Konsole abzulesen, interessant ist der Wert nach der Zeile "Real", sobald der Test durchgelaufen ist:

MidnightBSD Screenshot

Je nach Maschine kann das jetzt durchwegs mehrere Stunden, in extremen Fällen auch Tage, Wochen oder Monate dauern. Bei Problemen mit dieser Anleitung oder weiteren Fragen zum x264 Benchmark auf DragonFly BSD/BSD bitte einfach im [entsprechenden Forumsthread] nachfragen.

[Zurück zur x264 Benchmark Ergebnisliste]

[Anleitung kommentieren]