Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK Flagge DE+AT Flagge
Change language:
 

x264 benchmark installation guide for ReactOS

ReactOS Logo

System prerequisites

Other than most alternative operating systems, ReactOS plays a special role, because it is not a Unix-style OS. It actually tries to model the Windows NT5 kernel and the corresponding Win32 APIs, making partial use of Wine. Optimally, you can just install and run regular Windows programs on ReactOS without any modifications. So it is a Windows compatible open source operating system.

However, not all that glitters is gold, ReactOS has a ton of bugs that can trigger bluescreens. At the moment of writing, there is only one version known to run the x264 benchmark without severe system crashes, and that is v0.4-SVN r57481, so you should download and use this version:


To ensure the proper operation, you need to pay attention to a few settings you need to configure during installation. Make sure you choose the following:

Since we do not need to compile any source code ourselves like we would have to on Linux/Unix/BeOS, we can just use the regular Windows version of the benchmark and the input video file of course. Download mirrors for both are available at the bottom of the x264 benchmark results list. Additionally you will need a free packer like 7zip to be able to unpack the benchmark tools. From now on we shall assume that you have unpacked/put all the necessary files in C:\x264benchmark\:

Now there is just one small bug we need to fix. On ReactOS, the time measurement system used by the benchmark will not work correctly, which results in completely bogus runtime measurements, which are then written to the file RESULTS.txt. To correct that, we need to edit the file launchbenchmark.bat, e.g. with the text editor notepad.exe, and look for the following line in that file:

.\timethis.exe .\encode.bat | .\grep.exe "Elapsed Time" >.\RESULTS.txt

Please replace that with:

.\timethis.exe .\encode.bat

After that's done, we can run the benchmark, if every file is in place in the folder I was talking about previously:

Now you won't get the result from the file RESULTS.txt as usual, but you need to read it directly from the terminal window. Please ignore the "Elapsed" part though, as that part of the result will be entirely wrong. Instead, look at the "TimeThis : Start Time" and "TimeThis : End Time" values that are output near the end of the benchmark. You need to compute the difference between the two manually. The "Approximate" timestamps can be ignored entirely. Doing it like that we will lose the millisecond accuracy we usually get from the result, so the measurements precision on ReactOS is limited to seconds. When reporting the result, just report the milliseconds as "000", or leave them out completely.

Additionally, please note that at the moment ReactOS does not feature a working multiprocessor kernel, so you'll settle with just one processor(-core/-thread). That means that you'll always have to report CPUs/cores/threads as "1/1/1" for ReactOS at the moment.

When running the test on ReactOS, it will look like this (click to enlarge):

ReactOS screenshot

Depending on the machine you're running this on this may take several hours, maybe even days, weeks or in extreme cases months. If you have any problems with this guide, or if you have questions about the x264 benchmark on ReactOS, please don't hesitate to ask in the [corresponding forum thread]! It's in german, but you can just ask in english, and you will get a reply, at least by me. ;)

[Back to the x264 benchmark results list]

[Comment on this guide]

Voodooalert+x264 Logo
US+UK Flagge DE+AT Flagge
Sprache wechseln:
 

x264 Benchmark Installationsanleitung für ReactOS

ReactOS Logo

Systemvoraussetzungen

Im Gegenzug zu vielen anderen alternativen Betriebssystemen nimmt ReactOS eine Sonderstellung ein, weil es nicht unixoid ist, sondern versucht den Windows NT5 Kernel und die darauf aufgebauten Win32 APIs unter teilweisem Einsatz von Wine nachzubilden. Im Optimalfall macht es das möglich, Windows Programme einfach auf ReactOS zu installieren und ohne weitere Modifikationen zu verwenden. Damit nimmt es den speziellen Stellenwert eines Windows-kompatiblen OpenSource Betriebssystems ein.

Leider ist nicht alles Gold, was glänzt, und so hat ReactOS in der Regel sehr viele Bugs, die Bluescreens auslösen können. Momentan ist nur eine Version bekannt, auf der der x264 Benchmark ohne Absturz lauffähig ist, nämlich v0.4-SVN r57481, daher sollte man auch genau diese Version herunterladen und verwenden:


Um den erfolgreichen Betrieb zu gewährleisten ist bei der Installation darauf acht zu geben, einige Einstellungen korrekt vorzunehmen. Dazu gehören:

Da wir anders als bei Linux/Unix/BeOS Systemen keinen Quellcode selbst übersetzen müssen, können wir einfach die reguläre Windows Version des Benchmarks inklusive des benötigten Input Videofiles herunterladen. Downloadmirror sind in der x264 Benchmark Ergebnisliste ganz unten zu finden. Zusätzlich braucht man dann auch noch einen freien Packer wie 7zip, um die Benchmarktools auf ReactOS entpacken zu können. Wir nehmen hier im weiteren Verlauf an, daß die Benchmarkdateien in C:\x264benchmark\ liegen:

Nun gibt es nur noch eine Kleinigkeit zu korrigieren. Auf ReactOS funktioniert die vom Benchmark verwendete Zeitmessung nicht korrekt, was darin resultiert, daß völlig verfälschte Laufzeiten in die Ergebnisdatei RESULTS.txt geschrieben werden. Um dies zu korrigieren, editieren wir die Datei launchbenchmark.bat, z.B. mit dem Texteditor notepad.exe, und suchen darin folgende Zeile:

.\timethis.exe .\encode.bat | .\grep.exe "Elapsed Time" >.\RESULTS.txt

Wir ersetzen diese Zeile mit:

.\timethis.exe .\encode.bat

Danach können wir den Benchmark auch schon ausführen, wenn man alles in den oben genannten Ordner platziert hat:

Nun ist das Ergebnis nicht wie gewohnt aus RESULTS.txt zu holen, sondern direkt von der Konsole abzulesen. Dabei sollte man aber nicht wie üblich auf den "Elapsed" Wert achten, da dieser völlig verfälscht sein wird. Vielmehr sollte man auf die Werte "TimeThis : Start Time" und "TimeThis : End Time" achten. Die Differenz zwischen den beiden muß man dann manuell ausrechnen. Die "Approximate" Werte darunter können getrost ignoriert werden. Leider verzichtet man hier auf die ansonsten vorhandene Millisekundengenauigkeit, so ist die Messung auf ReactOS also nur sekundengenau möglich. Als Millisekundenwert ist bei der Nennung des Resultates einfach "000" oder gar nichts anzugeben.

Weiters ist noch zu beachten, daß ReactOS im momentanen Zustand noch nicht über einen betriebsfähigen Multiprozessorkernel verfügt, man muß sich also in jedem Fall mit nur einem Prozessor(kern/thread) zufrieden geben. Damit gilt für ReactOS im aktuellen Zustand immer die CPU/Kern/Thread Angabe "1/1/1".

Im Betrieb könnte das dann zum Beispiel so aussehen (Klicken, um zu vergrößern):

ReactOS Screenshot

Je nach Maschine kann das jetzt durchwegs mehrere Stunden, in extremen Fällen auch Tage, Wochen oder Monate dauern. Bei Problemen mit dieser Anleitung oder weiteren Fragen zum x264 Benchmark auf ReactOS bitte einfach im [entsprechenden Forumsthread] nachfragen.

[Zurück zur x264 Benchmark Ergebnisliste]

[Anleitung kommentieren]